Friendly Quest-ions With Barny and Dara

Hello! You’re welcome to my blog.๐Ÿ˜ƒ If this is your first time here, please just visualize my ushers leading you to the front seat.๐Ÿ˜ I am very delighted that you are here!

Some time ago, I started this thing of interviewing my friends. I started with my class rep in the university here, Mr. Adewale Ayeni-Bepo. Nothing serious, just something that I thought you might like and find interesting.

In this post, things are going to get a little more interesting. I’m interviewing a good friend of mine and a former President of The Literary and Debating Society, University of Ibadan, Mr. Dara Olaniyan. Dara is smart and fun, and I’m absolutely sure you’ll enjoy this. Here we go.โœจ

With a moving round of applause, let’s welcome Dara Olaniyan!!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Fantbabs: First question. Why are you so argumentative?

Dara: I enjoy arguing. It keeps my mind engaged and active, and it’s a very effective way for me to gain and retain knowledge. Of course, I don’t like when arguments degenerate into insults and what not, but occupational hazard niyen.

F: Do you have a political ideology? If so, what is it?

D: Hmm ๐Ÿค” I don’t align with a particular established political ideology. Or let me say I’m yet to find one. I take bits and pieces from everywhere. I believe matters should be handled as much as possible on an individual basis. I think the summary of my belief is that the government’s responsibility is to give the people all they can to help them flourish as individuals, and it’s the responsibility of the people to ensure that the state is never compromised.

F: Hmmm… Smart. What is your simple definition of slave mentality and could you cite a few of the most common manifestations of it?

D: ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ You want me to write thesis for you? Eh, put simply, slave mentality is a baseless feeling or assumption of inferiority that Nigerian people feel towards the West. I say Nigerian because these are the only people I’ve experienced first hand, though I suspect other African countries will have it too.

A perfect example is employers who assume that ANY university abroad produces superior graduates than universities in Nigeria. It’s fine if you see a Harvard graduate and assume he’s better than a UI graduate. That’s an assumption with a basis. But when you see a University of Ohio graduate and assume he’s better than a UI graduate, where is the basis of your assumption, when the only thing you really know for sure is that the university is in America?

Another good example is the attitude of people towards accents. An accent is just that, an accent. However, we have made these things a symbol of status, and the more white you sound, the higher you are in the echelon.

Slave mentality is also very common in the entertainment industry. It’s subtle and we’re all guilty in one way or the other, but it’s still baseless and harmful in the long run. Some of the effects can already be seen.

F: Hmmmm… E make sense small sha. And I like the fact that you said accent, not grammar.๐Ÿ™‚

D: Even the obsession with grammar gan is a pointer to slave mentality.

F: Ehn?๐Ÿ™„

D: Epa.

F: Thank God I did not say English grammar.

However, because English is what brings most of us together, if you want to really achieve something meaningful, you can’t but start with communication, good communication. Speak good enough grammar, not some mumbled nonsense and say it’s understanding or, in Lagbaja’s word, ‘expression,’ that matters.

D: Well, there’s a reason Lagbaja made legendary, purely indigenous music. And there’s a reason the world will always buy into him more than Johnny Drille. Nobody (except Nigerians) wants to hear or see a white man in a Nigerian’s body, that has no value.

F: Who in our class would you not like to be in a room with?

D: Nobody.

F: Do you think you are proud? How do you perceive your personality and popularity?

D: Loool. No, I don’t think I’m proud. I also don’t think I’m particularly popular, maybe just within certain circles. My personality? Multi-layered and complex just like everyone else.

F: Who is it hard for you to say no to in our class?

D: ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Depends on what the question is.

F: What if it’s something a little compromising? Or something that you might have to break a little protocol for because of your position?

D: Hmmm. I’d say no. Nobody.

F: If you had to pick between being a Nigerian Senator and being the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), which would you opt for? Why?

Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in the year 20xx

D: Hmmm. ๐Ÿค” That’s a tough question. But I think I’d go for Senator. One, because I have my own constituency that I can work on without external interference. Two, because I can easily lobby other senators to support proactive bills that won’t affect their interest. As EFCC chairman, your job itself is in direct conflict with many powerful corrupt people, some of whom you’d need to work with you to have any progress.

F: Will you lobby to drastically reduce your pay as a Senator? Bearing in mind the economic situation of your countrymen.

D: I could try, but I won’t think it’ll be a successful attempt.

F: You have held several positions so far in your life. Which position would you consider your most rewarding or satisfying experience?

And which one challenged you the most?

D: I enjoyed working as the Speech Coach of Law LnD. It felt good to be somewhat in charge of the quality coming out of the house.

My most challenging was definitely TLDS President. It’s also an experience I’m grateful I had. It made a lot of things clearer to me.

F: On being The Literary and Debating Society, University of Ibadan (TLDS, UI) President, what motivated you to run?

And what has the position taught you about human beings?

D: What motivated me to run was that I felt I could do things a little differently and a little better.

What it taught me about human beings is that people are very sentimental. In almost everything.

F: How did you handle not getting into Law school by no fault of yours?

D: ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Ahhh, well at first, I was angry, but mostly by the nonchalance of those who were supposed to help. Later, I realized maybe we had the better deal, since the guys that went were going to resume 5 weeks late or so, and have to grapple with the load. Thankfully, corona has made it easier to catch up but we didn’t know that then. So, after a while I just decided to take it in stride.

F: ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ What do you think about death? How do you perceive it?

Have you thought of how you want to die? And what you want to be remembered for?

D: Death is death. Nothing much to think about on that matter for me. I’d much rather die when I’m quite old and I’ve lived well. Actually, I’d much rather that I never died at all. I’d also prefer my death painless or if there will be pain, it should at least be for a good reason.

I want to be remembered for contributing meaningfully to Nigeria getting to where she’s supposed to be.

F: And where do you think that is? Where Nigeria is supposed to be.

D: At the very least, a country that takes care of itself.

F: Have you ever had a crush on any lady in our class?

D: Ofcourse na.

F: Can you explicitly or codedly name them?

D: No need. They know themselves.

F: On that note, what must a lady be or have to be your spec or your wife material?

D: Hmm. Loyalty is number 1, intelligence is a close second, then drive and thirst for life, open to having fun, and then cleanliness.

F: ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ Who are the people you like shading/want to dash slap in our class?

D: ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ It depends on the topic tbh (to be honest). Lekan (Akinola) for Nigerian government, Izu (Nwagbara) for religion, Faleti (Joshua) for slave mentality, Zainab (Shittu) for feminism, Ife (Olarinde) for Money Heist, many many.

F: What is your darkest desire/fantasy?

D: My darkest desire is to set my dogs on a thief that breaks into my house. Seems like it’d be a fun thing to do.

F: What are you most afraid of?

D: Hmm. Having a mediocre life. Then chickens.

F: Your heroes/role models?

D: My heroes are my parents.

F: If Law does not work, then what?

D: Anywhere I hear money is o. Anywhere, as long as it’s legal and I can get in on it.

F: Throughout uni, what was your most awkward/weirdest public experience?

D: Hmmm. ๐Ÿค” Awkward? I can’t think of any “awkward” moment.

F: A time you forgot speech or ‘skrrr’ or Stacy beat you and Diran in one contest like that?

D: Lmaoooo. Stacy never beat me. Diran chopped that L alone. One particular loss that pained me was 100 level JCI debate with Diran. We won that thing by any standards, but Mother Theresa was the chief judge and we were speaking in support of homosexuality. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Losing Jaw War second leg against ABH at CBN was also a bit embarrassing, but not exactly painful.

F: ๐Ÿ˜‚ Pele. What’s your dearest achievement?

D: I doubt it’d be my dearest if I think hard enough, but off the top of my head, I was happy with how the literary festival turned out and the feedback we had.

F: Okay. And that’s a wrap. Thank you so much, Dara.๐Ÿ˜Š

Please, don’t forget to like this post and leave an honest comment. Share to your contacts too. Thank you.๐Ÿ˜˜

25 thoughts on “Friendly Quest-ions With Barny and Dara

Add yours

    1. I agree, so genuine a guy.

      Thank you, brother, for taking time out to check this out and for kindly leaving a comment. God bless you!!๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

    1. Dara is a vibe mehn! He said “Epa”๐Ÿ˜…. To think that I and Dara have the same fears is funny. I’m freaking scared of fowls!!๐Ÿ˜ฌ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Loooool. The guy is a whole vibe o. He stole some of that vibe from me sha.๐Ÿ˜

        Thank you for reading. Really appreciate!

        Like

    1. Chai! Even my boss sef check am!! This is an emotional moment.๐Ÿคญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

      Thank you for taking time to read it, sir. Immensely grateful.

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑