One Bias I Thought About in January

A beautiful, happy Sunday to you. Thank you so much for coming here – I am deeply honoured. My name is Barnabas Akinrinola and I’m known as Alagba Barny. I blog about the things I see in my own life and the things I see from my society. I write to correct. I write to address. I write to entertain. After reading a post I’ve published, it is permitted and requested that you leave a comment, not just to say how nice a post is, but also to give your take about the issue the blog post covers. Thank you.

This Sunday, let’s talk about an ill that is rampant in our society today.

I attended an event early this year and something interesting happened. It was an event where there were a lot of dignitaries and it was clear that a lot of efforts and resources had gone to the organization of the event because it was so colourful and many nice concepts were implemented. As the event progressed, we just started hearing a noise from the far right side of the building where the event held. Tatafo me went to inquire about what happened.

The noise came from a lady who claimed she was being harassed by a middle-aged man. When we would ask what the harassment was, it turned out that the guy had allegedly asked for the beautiful lady’s number and she had withheld it. As was alleged, she was rude in telling him no and he was telling her that her response could have been polite. From all indications, it was obvious that, at the very worst, what happened between them was a minor altercation without any vituperation whatsoever. At least, that would be the case before the lady shouted for rescue. Now, all of that is not new but what I found interesting was this.

After hearing what happened, virtually everyone was saying the guy should leave the building. This was because the lady would not stop shouting and the event was being disrupted. People joined the security men to try to bundle the guy out of the building while the screaming lady was so darlingly left alone as she kept screaming and disturbing the event. Albeit, there were some ladies around who told the lady to be calm as the situation was being handled. However, the lady did not stop shouting till the guy was whisked out of the building. I found it weird – and I think a few other people around, including the ladies, did too – that it was the guy that was whisked out of the building and not the shouting, disturbing lady who refused to be quiet even when the situation was clearly being handled. I thought common sense demanded that, as soon as people came around, the lady be calm and, if she continued shouting and disrupting the event, that she be walked out of the building and safely separated from the guy. In actual fact, the lady was already leaving the venue of the event because her role in the event had already been fulfilled.

I thought about it and placed myself in the shoes of the guy. I would have walked out of the building as soon as she began to shout. Not because I think she was right but because I would easily have guessed that the reaction of majority of the people in the crowd that would form around us would be to shut their ears to whatever explanation I had to give. She would claim she had been harassed and I would immediately be adjudged guilty and viewed as a bad representation of masculinity. Did I not read that some of the people I loved and respected on social media jumped last year to gallantly stand by a certain lady who just claimed that she had been raped, and began to regard the person who allegedly raped her as a confirmed rapist without even giving that person a chance to say their own side?

I think that there is a certain unholy and very unfair bias in favour of a female person, especially where it concerns abuse, harassment or rape from a male person. I know that the stats say that far more girls and women have been raped than boys and men, and far more girls and women than boys and men are likely to be subjects of abuse, harassment and rape. However, I also think that, through history, a lot of girls and women have been found to have lied that they had been harassed or abused by men just to malign the men’s reputations. These should tell us that, yes, a lady that says she’s been harassed or abused might actually have been harassed or abused, but we would need more than her word to believe her and to castigate the person she points an accusing finger at.

The other day, a friend of mine put it on his status that the appropriate reaction to a lady who remotely claims she has been abused by a man is to say, I believe you. I was shocked to the marrow! I doubt if the same treatment would be accorded to a grown man who just claims that a lady has harassed, seduced or abused him. Usually, we would laugh at him and tell him to take it as a compliment that ladies were tripping for him and were rushing him. If a lady, out of the blues, sends a nude to a guy, the guy cannot complain because it is just ridiculous to do so. All he would be advised to do by those who care at the least is to block the lady.

We should all be reasonable. Life is not fair; we should not make it less fair on boys and men because we think they are strong enough to take it. Abuse whether from a male or female person should be condemned but only after an accusation of such is confirmed true. It is what it is. Your body or emotion is as important as someone else’s reputation built over the years with sweat from their bodies and their heartfelt tears. Thank you for reading.

Now please, let me know your thoughts on this in the comment section. Thank you.

Happy Sunday!

14 thoughts on “One Bias I Thought About in January

Add yours

  1. Okay this is actually something that I have been trying so hard to understand. I really do think that girls are truthful with stories of abuse at least for the sake of those that were actually abused.
    The man should not have been ushers out of the hall, the lady was the one shouting for God’s sake, she was the one disturbing the event.

    This is a nice piece by the way

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for letting me know what you think. I value it.

      I think that, of the stories of abuse that female persons have told through the years, many of them have turned out false. This does not mean that there haven’t been true stories, but it’s because of the probability of falsehood that we should not just take any lady’s word for it, in my opinion.

      I hope you understand. Thank you very much, Kawthar.

      Like

    2. This is a beautifully written story that pinpoints how the society views both genders. I, for one, believe that the society naturally places the woman above the man, naturally respects the woman’s wishes above the man’s and this is why I laugh at those who call themselves – feminists, because they fight for a cause that naturally favours them.

      The only reason why it appears that women are inferior to men in the society, apart from the religious, cultural interference which puts the man on the top, is simply this; ” Men take more responsibility than women in the society”

      As for the story, men will still be victimized in the society. I have written somewhere; ” Women are more favoured by women by men; women are more honoured by men than men”

      One more thing for those intending to be feminists (although this is not part of the comments)
      “Learn to take responsibility just like men do, when this is done, then you can come back and talk about equal rights ”

      But remember; ” Men who always take the pain from any society, and also always take the gain”

      Kevin Onuegbu

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow. Thank you for taking your time to check this post out and to leave a comment, Kevin.

        Well, I don’t think that the course for a better treatment of women is misplaced. I think girls and women too face a lot of baggage just on the basis of their gender. But I think that if we’re talking about equal treatment, we should not be hypocritical and bias, hence my post.

        Again, thank you, Kevin!

        Like

    3. I totally align myself with your position, as I believe any enlightened feminist should do! Really, what we seek is not another form of gender oppression, this time with the females on top, but gender equality. Gender inequality of any sort affects both genders negatively.
      The whole “female is always victim (because she’s weak)”; idea is really rooted in patriarchal attitudes, no matters how much some radical feminists may portray it to be, which is why old laws on rape like the Criminal Code always have the rape victim as female and the male as the criminal.
      It’s high time we dissociated ourselves fully from such attitudes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Very, very true. I totally align myself with your position too. Such attitudes should really not have a place in our society.

        Thank you plenty!

        Like

  2. Well, there are a number of popular cases of women lying about being abused. I agree that in this society of ours, we tend to back the claims of the lady more quickly than we are ready to even listen to the other party on what actually happened. It is just the way it is. We should take Johnny depp’s case as an example, if I lay claims that my wife abuses me, puts injuries on me, the society will just call me weak, a man that can’t handle his wife but let it be in the reverse case. It’s crazy that these women still believe they are being considered as minorities, clamoring for equality. Marilyn Monroe did say any woman who aspires to be equal with a man lacks ambition. For me, these women already have the power. The control the world. That’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm… Thank you for reading and leaving a comment. I appreciate.

      Yeah, a female person is more easily believed when she claims she has been victimized than a male person. I do not think that clamouring to be treated according to capacity and competence rather than according to gender is out of place tho.

      You think women already control the world? I’m not clear on that yet.

      Like

  3. I totally agree with you, Alagba Barny, when you argue that the scenario in the story you told was quite unfair on the man. I also believe that it only makes sense for you to have some level of proof before labelling a man as a rapist because a lady claimed so; there’s the danger of a single story, after all.

    However, I do not think that this happens (this idea that women are right by default) because society believes men are strong enough to manage slander/defamation, or that women are placed higher than men. I think it’s deeper than that, that it points to the natural course of a patriarchal system that treats women like garbage. One could argue that this modern aggressive behaviour when it comes to issues that affect women is a defense mechanism at its very core.

    In this sense, it becomes clear that because women have been systemically minimized and oppressed for so long, they are tired of waiting on men to grant them freedom, so they have resolved to secure their freedom by force. It’s just like how an animal has the highest tendency to attack when it has been pushed to the wall and boxed in, with no escape in sight.

    Ultimately, my argument here is not an endorsement of this behaviour, it’s simply an acknowledgement of the fact that, whether we like it or not, we should have expected this reaction in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmmm… Very nice perspective. Except that it’s not just women that use this ‘defence mechanism’ of totally believing a female person on claiming she has been unfairly treated.

      What would we say about the men that also take such claims hook, line and sinker without confirmation? Are they trying to secure their freedom too?

      But I get you. What’s wrong is wrong and should be condemned. Many thanks for this!!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑