The Thing About Being Disappointed

Hi there! Good day! Thank you for being kind to come here. May this new week be far better than the past week for you.

This Sunday, I want us to talk about something I’ve been thinking about for a while.

One thing I am now so grateful to God for learning (by my experience) so early in life is that I can walk alone. Yes, at a very young age, I had to learn the hard way that there’s only so much reliance I can place on human beings. I learnt, even though it was difficult, to be able to stand on my own, think for myself and do things independently while leaning only on God.

Believe me, friendship is a very beautiful thing. In fact, my Bible tells me that the bond between friends may sometimes be stronger than that between brothers. But do you realize how deep a cut it can be when the ones you call friends betray you? Do you get how dampening and overwhelming it can be when the ones you think you share a very intense connection with spit at it and hurt you? I had to learn that early in life.

I had to learn that it is true that no man is an island of knowledge or any good thing and that man, like a single tree cannot make a forest, will always need to relate with others of his kind. But I also had to learn that life can be a narrow path sometimes and only you will have to walk it depending solely on God. I had to learn that, sometimes, when I turn around to see who’s got my back, I may see no single human.

You see, people carry their own burdens, go through their own limitations and have their own interests. As soon as you begin to forget that and you trick yourself into thinking that some people always have to forget about their own lives and pledge their allegiance to you and your course, you have begun to set yourself up for disappointment, failure and betrayal.

The thing is, nobody actually owes you anything except they are probably your parents or those whose job it is to serve you and have been paid or are being paid to do just that. Nobody owes you their loyalty or love or care except they have willingly tied themselves to it. This understanding will immediately change the way you perceive life and relate with people. I am a very grateful person today because people have gone out of their ways to help me even when I did not deserve it. I remember a time when I had to cancel an important appointment I had made with somebody more than one month before, just a few days to the day of the appointment. It was kind-of a big deal to the person because it was going to benefit them a lot. It pained me when I had to cancel because I knew that, if I was in their shoes, I would feel so betrayed. But not long after this, that same person that I had ‘betrayed’ delivered something very important to me on a silver platter. I was so broken! I could not imagine how a human being could be so kind to another human being even when that other person had hurt them quite deeply.

I have learnt to find peace and comfort in my own company. I have learnt to encourage myself in the Lord. I have learnt to be content when nobody else understands me or stands by me. I can forgive people easily when they disappoint me because I have learnt the hard way to make allowance for faults. I have learnt even in my craft as a Christian entertainer/MC that it is not my job to lobby and beg for favours from people. Yes, I can pitch my competence and credibility before people. But I have learnt that I can depend on God and all my needs will be met. I can depend on God and all the good things I could never have worked to earn will come to me on a silver platter.

Stop setting yourself up for disappointment. Trust people but understand that they can fail. Anything can go wrong with people. But with God, all things are possible.

Ah, yes! God is that friend that sticks closer than a brother. If you don’t already have a relationship with him, you really should. God is really, really the best!

Thank you for reading.

What do you think about this? Please, leave a comment.

6 thoughts on “The Thing About Being Disappointed

Add yours

      1. Julie!! Thank you so much for stopping by. Really appreciate. I’m glad the piece served as a reminder.

        God bless you!

        Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑