Interview with #ThatFantasticStar, Sadik Gbenga (part 3)

S: Errrr… Okay… Oh my God! This is… this is… not nice. Okay… Errrmmm… Crush: Seyi Awojulugbe. Yeah, just her, because she’s no longer on campus and the names of those on campus, if I mention them, many people won’t know them. Rival. I should say that the guys I call rivals are actually people who I just really look forward to debating and beating because I believe that they are really good and that debating them would also raise my standard. Number one person I would call my rival… Errrmmm… (clears throat) or better put, someone I would really love to debate is Alufa Temijuopelo James. Next to that, of course, is Nwarueze Elizabeth. Next to that is Nwaezuoke Anastasia.

Seyi Awojulugbe

Alufa Temijuopelo James

Elizabeth Chi Nwarueze
Nwaezuoke Anastasia

F: Now you’re talking.👏👏👏 Oya, crushes.

S: Lol. You have no idea who my actual crushes are.

F: Mention them.

S: Make sure you put it on record that I’m saying this because I’m being forced to. I’m saying this out of duress. If I’m forced to have public speaking crushes apart from Seyi Awojulugbe, who is about 4 years my senior, errrmmmm… I would… Arrggghhh… Goodness!… Okay, a number of them. Ladies who I really like the fact that they are public speakers… They are… Okay. Okay. Olajesu Lord’sfavour (Law) and Akinluyi Toluwalase (ABH)… Yeah, those two.

Akinluyi Toluwalase

 

Olajesu Lord’sfavour

F: I wanted to kill you.😂
Who are your role models?

S: Barack Obama, Martin Luther King Jnr… Actually those two.

Barack Obama
Martin Luther King Jnr.

F: What do you think it means to be a 21st century youth? Do you think Nigerian youths are there yet?

S: The 21st century youths or the millennia are a very dynamic set of people, from my observation. I think to be a 21st century youth, you have to be dynamic, have an open mind and be a driver of change. Not just open to change but also a driver of change wherever you are. It will be difficult to answer the question, ‘Are Nigerian youths there?’ because, in several aspects, you find Nigerian youths driving change, being at the forefront of things globally. But, in other aspects, you find them lagging behind. So, I would say that, on a broad sense, Nigerian youths exemplify what the 21st century youth should be. However, the Nigerian society has not been able to take full advantage of that youthfulness and they’ve not been able to make good use of it.

F: What do you think the Nigerian society should do so our youths can truly be 21at century in virtually all areas?

S: Give us good leadership and governance. Give us an enabling environment. Invest in us. Give us power, good education. Revamp our universities. Most importantly, respect our intellect. Respect our ability to innovate and to drive change. And give us the opportunity to do so.

F: Are you a feminist? What are your thoughts on feminism?

S: I don’t know if I pass for a feminist but this is my thought on it. First, I condemn the old societal order — the patriarchal societal order — where women were segregated and prevented from having a voice in the society and the like. I regret it and am ashamed that men like myself drove that kind of society. I think it’s a shame on humanity that we lived that kind of life. Also, I do not agree that it is an integral part of any culture, African or Europe, to segregate women. I think it was just a phase that humanity went through and I’m glad that we are past that stage. I also believe that we are already past the era of segregation and what women need more now are re-orientation and empowerment rather than the entire noise of segregation. I think that, to a very large extent, men should also actively participate in the process of bringing our women back to the forefront of the society even if that means making certain concessions. But I don’t believe in hand-outs. I don’t believe in, ‘Oh, just let a woman do this because she is a woman.’ I believe that women have their own power, men have their own power and that, when we work together, we will achieve a lot. I hate misandry and, at the same time, I don’t believe women should be seen as unequal to men. I believe that, if we all recognize our roles and discharge them effectively, we can build a society of of our dreams.

F: On this, since you believe in gender roles, what roles do you think women have to play in the society? Plus, what was the word, misandry?

S: I think women are better managers and are also good leaders, if not better than men. I also believe that women in the family have specific roles like caring for the children. (I’m trying to be as politically correct as I can.) But yeah, women have specific roles in the family, particularly caring for the children. Men should play their own roles in disciplining the children. Misandry (hatred for men) is an extreme form of feminism where they believe men are evil and ‘scum,’ as they call it.

F: As a nation, especially as we hinge towards the 2019 polls, what do you think is the way forward?

S: 2019 is huge. A lot is being said about it. So, very quickly, this is my thought: I think that we should, as a nation, begin to look beyond elections, irrespective of who wins or loses. The people — the masses — who are the soul of democracy, should organize to demand good leadership from whoever emerges winner. We should constantly mobilize to demand the dividends of democracy. I believe that that’s the only way we can get the kind of governance we deserve. I think that Nigerians should vote based on convictions and they should not be scared to vote for those who they think do not have the so-called ‘structure’ to win. They should not be scared to vote differently from the usual pattern, to not vote either of the two prominent parties because I believe that neither the All Progressives’ Party (APC) nor the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) can take this country forward. I strongly believe that Nigerians should vote based on competence by critically analyzing all the candidates and voting the best of the best.

F: Do you have any life policy/principle?

S: I do. A number of them, but primarily, my life principle is to live a God-driven, God-inspired; a life that God will be proud of. And that translates into living a better life for humanity and humanity translates into doing good, fighting for good, even down to climate sustainability and all that. I think everything is derived from a God principle, a God life. And this trickles down to the tiniest detail of life as we see it now.

F: Do you think advocacy for animal rights is worth it?

S: I’m not an advocate for animals rights. But, I guess it is worth it. I think they (animal rights advocates) do have valid arguments. We need to preserve the environment. But I do think that the advocacy is often taken to the extreme. Nevertheless, I believe that there is some reality in how we treat animals. So yes, there is some legitimacy in the advocacy for animal rights.

F: Recently, at the Fifteen Outstanding Persons Awards organized by Junior Chamber International, University of Ibadan, you were announced winner in the category of outstanding student leadership. How did/does it feel?

S: I was happy. I had always wanted to win FOPA since I was in 100 level. That’s because I admired some of those who won it in the past. Some of them were my mentors, and I saw it as a hallmark of whatever I would do in UI. So, I was really happy to have won the award. However, now it’s hanging on my shelf and it’s just ordinary, like every other thing. But I really appreciate it. I think it means that, somewhere somehow, what I’ve done are being recognized and people felt that I deserved the award of outstanding student leadership. It makes me feel fulfilled, so to say, and it makes me feel appreciated. Most importantly, it drives me to do more work.

F: Since 100 level?? You’re such an ambitious guy!😄

S: Lol. Yeah, you can say that.

F: As a nutritionist-in-the-embryo, rate your eating culture or diet.

S: Haha… 5

F: 5/10?

S: Yeah.

F: Why?

S: Because I eat out too often. I really need to cook more.

F: You can cook?😮

S: Sure.

F: How good are you at cooking on a scale of 10?

S: I’d say six.

F: What foods can you cook?

S: Ahnahn… A lot of foods. Rice, beans, porridge, yam, amala, semo, pounded yam, ikokore (Ijebu food). I can fry plantain. (laughs) I can cook noodles, spaghetti… A lot… I think the real question is, ‘What food can’t I cook?’ Maybe some Ibo delicacies. I can cook most of the foods I eat.

F: No o, don’t be able to cook noodles o.😒

Are you in a relationship? With who? (Please, don’t say you’re in a relationship with God or something.)

S: Lol. No. I’m single.

F: Until you marry, you’re single. Are you in any relationship that is a little more than friendship?

S: No. I’m not dating anyone currently.

F: But you’re searching/available, right?

S: No, I’m not.

F: K! God is kuku seeing you in HD. What do you do in your leisure?

S: I read, play tetris, or ideate with friends.

F: What’s tetris?

S: It’s a game on phones, where you have to arrange bricks that come in different shapes.

F: Lol. See the way he now said like it’s some sophisticated kinni.

S: Lol.

F: What would you like to remembered for?

S: My contribution to society, and my leadership style.

F: Hmmmm…👍 What leadership style would that be?

S: It is still evolving, but involves true inclusion and societal good as the first and ultimate goal.

F: What would you never ever be caught doing?

S: Getting married to more than one wife at a particular time and several other things like stealing and betraying my friend.

F: Hmmm… Your father has 4 wives. How many children in total does he have?

S: 4 wives, 13 children.

F: And your mum is number what? And you’re number what?

S: Mom is second, I am fourth.

F: Drop your social media handles.

S: Email – sadikoluwagbenga2@gmail.com. Phone Number: 07064728945. Facebook – Sadik Oluwagbenga. Twitter – @gbenga_sadik. Instagram – @gbengasadik.

F: Thank you so much, Sadik Gbenga!😊

 

What are your thoughts on this interview? Let me know in the comment section below. You can reach Sadik Gbenga on any of his social media handles. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “Interview with #ThatFantasticStar, Sadik Gbenga (part 3)

Add yours

  1. Well, I can’t remember the last time I read a long interview. Must be years. I did this. It was perhaps, a worthy read

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Interview but poor Gbenga you put him on the hot seat. I total agree with Gbenga on his anti polygamy rule.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. His presidential seat is kinda already hot. So I think he’s used to hot seats. Lol.

      I agree too!

      Thank you so much for reading. I really appreciate!

      Like

  3. Beautiful Work here, Barny. I loved the back and forth, and the way you put Sadik on an electric chair (He deserves it. 😂).

    All in all, this was a read so enthralling the length ceased to matter, and that’s not something you can say for myriads of essays out there today.

    So, as TeewohFire aptly concluded, Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha… Thank you sooooo much, bro. I’m full of thanks

      Kudos to you too for reading to the end. I hope subsequent editions will be better.

      Again, thank you soooo much!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑